I want to build a sporty ev!

Well first off, although I am very savvy as far as mechanics go, I am a total newby at ev. So I have an Idea of what I want as far as performance range etc that I want, but no idea if I can get there and how much it will cost. Here goes, I want to make a 3rd gen. (1992-1995) rx7 into a high performance ev. I want to get 100+ miles in range and have an acceleration comperable to the original ICE. They had 255 hp, but i don’t need the top speed they had. If it will do 100 mph that would be good enough. I realize I probably can’t do this with lead acid batts so I was thinking more along the lines of ion lithium batts, AC motor with regen. I don’t need ac or ps, and as for the heater, I live in Canada so I was gonna use a gas heater of some sort. Also being in a colder climate I was gonna use some kind of batt warmer or something like that. Although at home the car will be kept in a heated garage. I am not adverse to spending 20,000 + for the conversion, plus cost of the car itself. Any help and advice would be greatly appreciated:)

Sounds like you have this all figured out.

I’d say that those specs are doable. AC, regen, high end controller, lithium batts.

Very pricey. Very cool. Good luck.

I would recommend you look into battery blankets too. Also, you can add an electric heater in place of the stock heater core. Personally, I wouldn’t want the fire hazard of a gas heater.

well, your budget better be in the neighborhood of 30+ grand, without car.

First off, finding a 200+ hp motor will be spendy… and heavy.

I don’t know of a ton of AC stuff, mostly just DC.
Siemens seems popular, but ACpropulsions is another:
http://www.acpropulsion.com/technology/gen2.htm
for a reality check on prices:
http://www.metricmind.com/prices.htm

For DC:
Lots of guys use larger motors. A warp/netgain 13" or something should do very well.
http://www.go-ev.com/Products.html

You’d need a zilla, so get on the waiting list for a zilla 1k.