Front Sway bar 2016+

Well the New Sway bar “kit” showed up and I’m Very pleased with it. I was happy to see that the bar itself is a “Schroeder” name brand with a part # on it so that I can get the weight specs on the bar itself. I thought it was gonna be some No name brand bar that speedway motors made with no info. So as a total newb (this will be the 3rd sway bar on a gem I have done) the size of the bar looks great & I’m very pleased. Having everything on hand in a kit will make this project move forward so much faster then the rear sway bar where I bought piece by piece to size it as I built it.

Powdercoat the metal pieces for a professional look!!

So the ID of the mounts on the Swaybar tube are around 19-5/8 just shy of the 20-1/2 you need. I’m sure I could have just put a bit of heat on the mounts and bent them out but I decided to grind off the welds and space the mounts out to match the factory frame and re weld them.

Now I gotta bend these arms

1 Like

That doesn’t look right. Do the arms reach out to the shock mounts?

The photo is deceiving because I moved the sway bar more forward in the 2nd set of photos the Swaybar Arms extend further towards the shock points. I’m going to make a bracket that bolts to the A-arms and gives me a mounting point you can see 1 of the two holes in the bottom of the A-arm circled in red

in the picture. That’s what I’m going to amount to.

Is that near the shock mount though? It seems the shock is outboard from that.

I more/less agree. Is that lower arm going to be strong enough at that point?

Nice. With the exception of the eM1400’s, I’m not familiar enough with the suspension on the newer GEMs to visualize how it will go in there and affect the geometry, but the quality of your builds and mods has always impressed me Grant.

Yes, probably fine knowing Grant. Without seeing where the shock is, I can’t offer an opinion.