First Gem Issue

Hello, this is my first posting so I hope I’m following the rules and putting this in the right place.

I bought a 2001 GEM E-825 72 Volt cart several weeks ago. It’s in great shape and has year old batteries. We were instructed to always leave it plugged in when not in use.

We’ve driven it several times and each time we drive down the hill, we hear beeping. I turn the key off and it goes away. Today while carrying four adults less than a mile, we got lots of beeping, then a red wrench and lots of codes we didn’t write down, such as -46, -14,-16. I found I could turn the key off then back on and the car would drive several feet before shutting down again. Eventually we towed it home and plugged it in and, wow, it sounded like it was sucking up all the power in the house. I turned it back on after a while and it seems okay again.

I’m new to this, not sure where to take it for service, and wondered if this is something you’ve heard of before.

Need more info. Like the code.
Most likely issue is battery condition or connections.

Ya need more info on your charger and batteries. With the old Schott charger it was meant for the trojan batteries and if they are frequently charged while having higher than 80% capacity remaining, however, repeatedly doing so may cause excessive gassing. This equates to a loss of electrolyte, therefore the water should be checked more often. If you have a updated Zivan NG1 or Delta Q charger they had different algorithms to support flooded and gel batteries. Always make sure the batteries go through a full charge cycle before using, recommend charging overnight. It reverses the buildup of negative chemical effects like stratification, a condition where acid concentration is greater at the bottom of the battery than at the top. Perform a load test on batteries to see if you have any damaged cells. Other issues could be controller or motor related but still need more info.