Best GEM battery's

Now that I got your attention, :slight_smile: I wanted to share what I have found out. I’m very new to GEMS but very familiar With battery’s for 12v High powered stereo systems. Not sure if what I know in the 12v world transfers over but I just wanted to start a thread to share Ideas and info. Here go’s

I’m my world Gell and AGM battery’s work great BECAUSE they can be mounted in funky locations like up and under a seat or hard to get to places
Where checking a water level is next to impossible OR the battery’s need to be on their side ect.

GEMs are easy to service and check water levels. So flooded battery’s like the Trojan or Deka group 31 battery’s are a inexpensive solution compared to GELL or AGM. But if you don’t want to ever bother checking a water level the. Just go With the AGM or another maint free battery.

I have found no one that can either say that pound for pound the Gells or AGMs are BETTER then the flooded lead acid other then the fact that you don’t have to Maintance Gell’s or AGMs from what I have found is the extra money your paying for the Gell’s or AGM’s is for NOT having to deal with fluctuation of water levels.

That’s it for now hopefully we can get some more Ideas as far as battery’s go’s

BTW this is what I’m finding out as far as prices go.
This is for a set of 6 group 31 battery’s with at least 108 AH each

Trojan’s $1000-$1200
AGMs. $1200-1400
Gells. $1400-$1600

In Daniels list of alternative parts he lists a Napa branded Deka gell battery that’s a Factory GEM battery with a Napa label on it. Turns out all Napa battery’s are made by the company that makes Deka.

The Gell battery sells for $249.
The AGM battery sells for around the same
The Flooded lead acid sells for $179.

Interesting that the flooded lead acid had more cranking amps and Cold cranking amps then both the Gell and the AGM battery’s . So in short the flooded lead acid was cheeper and “on paper” a better more powerfull battery.