Bad Chargery BMS?

I’ve been running this INWO package for about 6 years and been totally satisfied - Chevy Volt, 21S, 47(?)ah with Chargery 24S BMS, no remote display. Recently pulled the seat and found the Voltage Balance Diff at 251mv. Monitored it for a few days and the Diff was all over the place, 17mv to 900+mv. It was always the same cell that was low causing the Diff. When it hit 900+ I put a small radio control model LiPo charger on the low cell and brought it up to the same voltage as the 2 adjacent cells. Put an auto 12v load tester across all 3 cells. Ran the load test 3 times with the same result. All cells dropped the same amount so I don’t think I have a bad cell.

So, I’m thinking the BMS went south. I’ve also noticed that the biggest Diff happens while charging, not discharging. Twice the Diff kept increasing while charging and the BMS was too hot to keep my hand on it so I killed power to the BMS to turn it off.

Thoughts?

From reading the forum I’ve decided to get a a JK BMS if you agree mine is bad. Is JK-B1A24S15P the correct one for my setup?

Thanks

I think that is the right jk for your setup. The main thing is the connectors for the balance leads. there are two different sizes (at least). The jk uses the really small ones, the ant uses the larger ones now. Match them up or plan on a lot of rewiring.

Also word of caution on a VOLT pack and jk bms. The jk can do active balancing, up to 2000mA iirc. 1st and 2nd gen volt packs have pico fuses installed on the mylar that has the balance traces. If you go over 200 or 300 mA you’ll blow the fuses. I learned this the hard way replacing an ANT with a jk. Set the jk Ballance current as low as it will go for volt batteries.

1 Like

Yes, you need to be careful with the active balancing and those fuses.
If you want another passive BMS use the ANT BMS that way you don’t have to worry about blowing the fuses.

Something like this:

Agree, jk rocks.
Fuses should be jumpered allready.