66 error code

I have a 2002 Gem Car that did something very strange today. Started down a decent steep hill today, and it picked up good speed. All the sudden the dash indicator lights started flashing and it just quit.

Now it will go into reverse, but every time I switch to forward, it kicks out and a -66 error code pops up.

Tried it several times but no luck. Rode home on a flat bed wrecker…

Im new to Gem cars, but I feel it had something to do with maybe going down hill too fast. But I may be 100 % wrong.

Any advise would be greatly appreciated.

Anything can push a failing part to die.
It seems field transistors are shorted in controller.
Full bridge uses a different pair for F and R.
Repairable if you know someone handy with electronics.

Rodney can get it rebuilt.

In this thread it lists -66 as “Field Current High” inspect motor controller. Here is a link to all the GEM codes
http://www.electricforum.com/cars/golf-carts-neighborhood-vehicles-low-speed-vehicles/2486-complete-list-gem-error-codes.html

Took the dash out this morning and when the units kicks out and then shows the error code 66. The Main Contactor is whats kicking out. Like I stated this stays engaged if I put in reverse.

Forward and reverse are seporate citcuits

Shorted field transistors. See second post.

so an option I did get from a local guy that also has a Gem car is to send my controller to RIDEFORFUN they will rebuild it for $500.00 dollars.

Seems pretty high for a rebuild. But is this my only option?

I can replace them for $150 but it’s not a rebuild. Just replace the parts.
As in post 2, if you know someone handy with electronics, Ill show you how.

Thank you INKO…that obviously sound much better. I have to be out of town for a couple of days, and if its ok, I will reach out to you when I return to see if we could accomplish this.

Thanks again, I really appreciate your help.