2005 Gem E4 error code 21

I’m getting an error code 21 on my display. I have already switched out my controller and my accelerator pedal (both parts are brand new from the factory, not used ebay parts). I have not replaced the accelerator wire harness yet. Anyone with any information on how I can get my issue fixed would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Should have come here before spending the money. :slight_smile:

Hi Inwo, thanks for the picture can you please explain what I need to do or how to measure the volts for each pin you show in your picture? I am a total rookie at this but I do have the tools or can go get the tools needed to get this fixed. Please help. Thanks

FYI, The picture is facing the throttle socket. Use it for reference if testing the plug.

Pin 7 at controller must be less than 4.5 volts when switch is turned on. Stick a pin in the wire to test .

Unplug throttle plug.
Blk to red = ~ 5v.

Power off tests:
Unplug the 23p plug at controller and test ohms to throttle plug. Use low scale. All wires should be near zero ohms. Actually a battery continuity tester does a better job.
Pin numbers 7, 8, and 9 at 23p plug.

1 Like

thank you, I will test this afternoon when I get back home. For the power off tests, are you saying test the ohms between the 7 pin to the 23 pin / 8 pin to the 23 pin and 9 to the 23 pin and all readings should be zero?
the test for voltage at pin 7 is that off of the 23 pin harness or the plug from the throttle socket, and do I keep the harness plugged in when testing for the voltage?
again thanks for helping out a newbie.

Yes, 0 ohms. It’s only a wire harness test. Wires should be the same color on both ends.
Voltage comes from controller. Leave it plugged in. Unplug the throttle end for easy probing.

thank you. I will let you know what I find out once I test it later this afternoon. thanks again

Hi Inwo