Two Dead 2009 GEM eLXd Trucks

Let me say thank you for reading this Post. I am not an electrician, and only a fair mechanic by necessity. I have spent some time reading over the prior posts and I don’t even understand all of the acronyms that are being used.
I have recently acquired 2 GEM trucks- 2009 GEM ELXD models. Prior to this my experience with electric cars has been and occasional ride in a golf cart. I’m in Alaska and these vehicles were shipped new to the City of Seward AK after manufacturing. The City of Seward has been the only owner. They would have been subjected to cold temperatures with a lot of moisture and salt water potentially.
I picked them up from the city of Seward a few months ago. I anticipated, because they have been parked for at least two years maybe three years that the batteries would need to be changed out. After picking up a set of batteries for one of the vehicles (I have only picked up one set of new batteries the selection was not great, but I THINK I picked up a set that at least were an option.
As I dug into the vehicles, I realized that one of the two vehicles had nine 8 Volt batteries in it. The other vehicle had Nine 12 Volt batteries. I am an electrical novice, but my understanding tells me 9 -12 volt batteries in a 72 volt system is not good. Both sets of batteries were acid water batteries.
The 8 volt batteries – 9 of them- were the NAPA GC8, 8399611198-1 a deep cycle golfcart battery. Manufacture date 8/19
The 12 volt batteries-(9 of them) were the Duracell GEL Magna power 12V maintenance free- LIG8VGC- manufacture date 6/17
I attempted to get as much information on the cars (trucks) from the city workers when I picked them up-- there was no information available, so the history of the vehicles is a mystery.