Gem e6 battery pack

Have a gem e6 with new batteries 9 8 volts that slow down on a half battery charge what should I do this are some pictures of my issues

About all you can do is charge the batteries.
Either the batteries or cabling, can’t hold the voltage above the minimum required for high speed.
I guess you could reprogram for full speed, but it would only kill your batteries faster.
If batteries are new, maybe it will improve after a few cycles.
IMHO, I’m no expert on lead batteries, nor do I recommend them.

Some More info:
His controller is a New T4 that he got from Mike Mc from FSIP.
He also said that One of his 9” 8v battery’s has a compromised positive terminal. (I guess one of his battery connections was loose and it burnt the pos terminal and now he is using a secondary connection to that compromised battery. My thought was that the battery that got hot is possibly compromised

2 Likes

That is a distinct possibility, Dave. Melting a post is never a good thing for a lead battery.

Also, 9 batteries in series via flexible copper cables and counting on a bunch of 3/8" nuts to create good contacts by pressure alone is a lot of places to pick up extra resistance.

My first guess was to “load tes the battery that has a comprised post. Any good automotive shop will do a battery test for free

My first guess was to “load tes the battery that has a comprised post.

I was thinking he could just put a meter across it and take it for a drive. If the damaged cell is in the middle of the pack he can put the meter lead on the next post in line(so it measures the quality of the compromised connection).

If you had to guess what do you think Voltage drop would be on a FLA battery when he puts a load on it.
Example the battery is fully charged 8v and you take off a healthy battery would drop down to what? 7v 6v? Just wondering

Need a baseline on a good one first. What if the whole pack is clapped out.