Fully Electric NEV

I’m fairly new to this vehicle concept, so I apologize upfront for my questions as I conduct research and ask opinions from others in a field I know little about.

However, given the specific demographics associated with these specific vehicles, how likely is it that they will eventually become widely used? What roadblocks to implementation do you feel will need to be overcome first? What role do you think the government could or should make to encourage this innovation?

NEVs are established pretty well in most parts of the United States. All major Golf Cart Manufacturers have 1 or more models available. Legislation in most states is mature and for the most part consistent across the country,

Chinese manufacturers have many models in production. Many are very car like. At this point in time it is very similar to the start of the automobile business in the last century. There have been several start ups that have made a few cars then went bankrupt.

IMHO the next wave may be MEVs or "Medium Speed Electric Vehicles. (45 MPH)

This will be a bigger deal because it’s not really feasable to upgrade a Golf Cart to that status. They will have to be designed from the ground up. This might not happen for a long time, if ever.

Big deal is crash worthiness and braking ability.
Rodney

[quote=cmethven;31734]I’m fairly new to this vehicle concept, so I apologize upfront for my questions as I conduct research and ask opinions from others in a field I know little about.

However, given the specific demographics associated with these specific vehicles, how likely is it that they will eventually become widely used? What roadblocks to implementation do you feel will need to be overcome first? What role do you think the government could or should make to encourage this innovation?[/quote]