Battery/Range Question

I have a 2008 GEM E4 with 100 miles on it and 14 inch wheels. We just purchased this vehicle and it had the stock batteries in them. I was only getting about 6 miles on one charge, all batteries seems to be ok after testing.

I replaced all the batteries with AGM Deka’s. Did 5 full cycles with the new batteries. I live by the beach so there’s some hills. But currently I’m only getting 8 miles or so from a full charge. Is that range normal?

Par; I’m no Expert but 8 miles seems pretty short.
I’m beginning to think the 20-30 mile range people talk about ONLY exists in very flat areas. So with that said lets just say your mileage is going to be 1/2 of what people are saying is normal. That still leaves you 5-8 miles short. I would think that you should get 15 miles range with new battery’s in a hilly Aera.

Are you sure you have all your battery’s hooked up correctly? Are you sure your charger is fully charging your batts. Are you sure your dash gauge is reading your batt status accurately.

Try resetting your system by turning off the main breaker for 15 to 20 mins while your gem is un pluged

content removed…

If the old batteries tested good, why were they replaced? Is the charger set for AGM batteries? The yellow chargers used on newer GEMs are junk. Try charging each battery with a 12 volt automotive charger (this will take hours). If the range is improved, you can assume the charger is no good.

Daniel

I noticed that a shop set my batteries up as GEL batteries but they are AGM verify that your charger is setup for agm.

Also verify that batteries have the proper amp hour rating.

You could have a bad battery causing the rest to be over worked.

(Requires two people)
If you have some jack stands raise the gem off the ground. Apply full power to gem 5-10 seconds, at the same time test each batteries voltage. If you have a battery problem at least one battery will drop in voltage more then the rest under load

Thanks

So check this out…