Us road tax

hi everyone, i am a newbie here, this is my first post.

i was on another forum, making headway talking about evs,making my points about effiency and all, espec. since the price of gas keeps climbing.

this guy comes back talking about, how would we be paying for using the roads in the us, since that is what we pay for in part by paying for gas.
i really did not have a comeback for his statement, other then that i am already taxed to death with everything else in this country.(property, school, sales taxes!!!) you name something and i am sure we have paid tax on it in one way or another.

anyway her is this guys statement:
(if anyone has a good comeback i would like to use it):wink:

For example, the last I knew, when farmers have their own gas and diesel pumps for fueling their tractors - technically if they put any of that fuel in a car or truck, it is not legal. Because… no road tax was paid on that fuel.
It was intended and sold for ag use.

Your and my current (no pun intended) electric bills do not include any road taxes that I know of.
They really couldn’t charge it on the whole bill either.

They’d have to find a way to come up with that money that would no longer be coming in, if the tax revenue on gas and diesel dropped off due to less consumption.
And THAT is a scary thought… turning them loose to find another way to tax! Not saying that it might not be necessary… am saying that it is scary and needs to be thought through in advance by us peons out here that bear the load.

Tax money is just that. If we didn’t pay the 18 cents/gallon federal tax, then we would end up paying the taxes some other way.