Newbie needs a little help with connecting a Delta q charger

I am new to Gems but have plenty of automotive experience. Needless to say a 72 volt system is uncharted waters for me. I have a 2002 e825 that I recently purchased. It has a Delta q model 912-7200-02 charger that I think is wired incorrectly. The red wire from the charger is connected to the Main Contactor to the right of the charger. Don’t know what the contactor is but that’s what it’s called in the manual. The white and black wires on the delta q web site are connected together with a little black box at the end. I think the little black box is some type of heat sensor but I could be mistaken. Mine however were cut and each wire runs to different location. My black wire from the charger was cut from the little black box and runs to the - neg of the controller. The white was also cut and runs to the + pos of the battery up front near the fuse box with a slightly smaller gauge wire. Before it connects to the battery it is spliced into that little back box that I mentioned earlier. The other wire coming from the little black box is also spliced to a smaller gauge wire that runs to the neg of the controller. This seems to be a direct short to me but there is no contuinty on this wire through that little black box. I disconnected the red wire and plugged in the charger. Dead. Nothing at all. I think I have a dead charger in addition to it being wired incorrectly.
Any suggestions would be appreciated.

I tried posting photos but it didn’t work. Like I said earlier I’m new to this.

Sounds correct.
Red to B+ and Blk to B-. Where it connects to battery leads are immaterial
The white is the sensor wire. The other end of sensor goes to B-
What looks like a large wire terminal is the sensor. No connection to anything, so it can be attached to any battery terminal to sense heat.
A working sensor is about 10k ohm.
Test by connecting 10k from white wire to B-. (blk wire or battery.